我们的历史

1869-FBC-Building_min 2012-FBC-Building_min 第一浸信会福里斯特城始于1852年,当公民组织被称为什么那么作为弗农山浸信会教堂。 委员在弗农山公墓在北部福里斯特城的现址附近的一栋小楼。 虽然没有文字记载存在,许多人认为马克W.伊泽德曾担任第一任牧师。 据记载,伊泽德先生还担任了阿肯色州州参议院和众议院,是一个美国的马歇尔,并担任领土州长的内布拉斯加州。 1860年,山。 弗农面积在下降,和教会的十一名成员转让其会员资格的浸信会在埃文斯学校的网站。 高炉长老托马斯成为了牧师,并担任了近十年。 在1869年,埃文斯教会分为两组。 一组成为阿甘教堂教堂; 其他成为福里斯特城第一浸信会教堂。 第一浸信会的成员建立了一个框架,教堂,南亚和伊扎尔街道的拐角处(一个记录表明南亚和阿甘街道的拐角处),和服务奉献举行的第一个星期日在1871年三月。

教会的其他早期牧师是:JK·墨菲(1870),WM利(1871),上午罗素(1873),约瑟夫·沙克尔福德(1876年),JB Cheirs(1879),GA格拉默(1880),WH奥斯本(1887), JJ·泰勒(1888),GA格拉默(第二学期1889年)和JH卡森(1891年)。 这是长老卡森的任期内,在1891年七月,教会成员开始讨论计划,一个新的教会。 记录表明,提出的两个星期$ 4000,并在1892年,一个新的砖教堂建在华盛顿和希尔街的拐角处。 该教学楼加在1937年,该大厦成为20世纪50年代的地区总部阿肯色电力与照明。 幼儿园建设得到了1945年左右加入。

拉格朗日人力资源莫兰(1893)担任牧师,直到RL士丹利(1895)成为了一个特别委员会任命的。 斯坦利长老据说有史以来举办的福里斯特城举行的最大的复兴之一。 他还帮助组织了一个青年联盟。 随后牧师是:弗朗西斯·Boseman(1895),JB Perminter(1897),WJ罗宾逊(1898),和一个长沙发(1899)。 几个月来在1899年,第一浸信会教堂是没有一个牧师。 在此期间,服务没有定期举行。 当举行服务,客人牧师讲道,和夺冠热门之一是长老WH P​​aslay。 他是山的主持人。 弗农协会,他担任了30多年。 他也是县考官几个方面。 他住在附近的惠特利和带来许多积极的变化对宗教和学术生活在该地区获得学分。 他于1911年在宣讲不同教会的权利,直到他的死亡在79岁在1900年的第一部分牧师分别是:JA麦考德(1901),米尔顿馆(1905),乙脑纽曼(1906),JH皮平(1907), EPJ Garrott(1913),JRG白(1913),WC爱德华兹(1921年),BF戴维森(1924),大肠杆菌罗林斯(1926),和格罗弗王子(1934)。 他教会牧师开始小E. Cole的领导(1945年)下显着第二次世界大战后成长。 教会的第一副牧师,艾拉Patishall,于1947年加入了工作人员,在1948年,坎贝尔德尔玛夫人成为第一位专职秘书。 1950年,教会在罗瑟和克利夫兰街道的拐角处购买了土地从福里斯特城校区的一个新的教会。 奠基仪式为40万美元,庇护和教育建筑举行了1950年十月牧师TK立德成为牧师在1951年服务是在新的教会开始在1952年一月举行。; 正式的奉献仪式已于1955年4月24日。教会成员已发展到1260。主日学已发展到17个部门76类。 1960年,牧师山姆加什成为牧师。 在当年10月,教会购买了10,000平方英尺的国民警卫队军械库毗邻的教会财产。 它成为了第一浸礼会教堂康乐及建筑活动时,正式致力于在1961年9月10日,它现在被称为交谊厅。 教会继续在牧师克莱德·汉金斯(1965)方向和牧师鲍比·摩尔(1971)增长。 1975年,嘉里牧师鲍威尔的领导下,教会的成员开始了“携手共建”计划。 其结果是一个10000平方英尺的行政,教育建筑,专用于1977年1月30日。教会成员增长到2145。教会的口号变成了“城市街区...服事生活的各个领域”。 改造在过去的几年中很多领域:政府,教育大厦于1994年,1997年圣所,教育建筑在2000年和2002年,和交谊厅在2001年最新的牧师一直:牧师戴尔顿北奥(1987)牧师里克Hedger来(1994),牧师约翰尼杰克逊(临时牧师1999),和牧师詹姆斯·迪恩(2001)。 我们目前的牧师是基因克劳利博士(照片职员页)。

Our History

1869-FBC-Building_min2012-FBC-Building_minFirst Baptist Church of Forrest City began in 1852, when citizens organized what was known then as Mount Vernon Baptist Church.  Members met in a small building near the present site of Mount Vernon Cemetery in northern Forrest City.  Though no written records exist, many think that Mark W. Izard served as the first pastor.  It is documented that Mr. Izard also served in the Arkansas State Senate and House of Representatives, was a United States Marshall, and served as Territorial Governor for Nebraska. In 1860, the Mt. Vernon area was in decline, and eleven members of the church transferred their memberships to a Baptist Church at the site of the Evans School.  Elder B. F. Thomas became the pastor and served for almost ten years.  In 1869, the Evans Church divided into two groups.  One group became Forrest Chapel Church; the other became Forrest City First Baptist Church.  Members of First Baptist built a frame church at the corner of South and Izard Streets (one record indicates the corner of South and Forrest Streets), and a dedication service was held on the first Sunday in March of 1871.

Other early pastors of the church were:  J. K. Murphy (1870), W. M. Lee (1871), A. M. Russell (1873), Joseph Shackelford (1876), J. B. Cheirs (1879), G. A. Grammer (1880), W. H. Osborne (1887), J. J. Taylor (1888), G. A. Grammer (2nd term 1889), and J. H. Cason (1891). It was during Elder Cason’s term, in July of 1891, church members began discussing plans for a new church.  Records show that $4000  raised in two weeks, and in 1892, a new brick church built at the corner of Washington and Hill Streets.  The Educational Building added in 1937.  This building became the regional headquarters for Arkansas Power & Light in the 1950s.  A Nursery Building got added around 1945.

H. R. Moran (1893) of LaGrange served as pastor until R. L. Stanley (1895) became ordained by a special committee.  Elder Stanley reportedly organized one of the greatest revivals ever held in Forrest City.  He also helped organize a Young People’s Union.  Subsequent pastors were:  Francis G. Boseman (1895), J. B. Perminter (1897), W. J. Robinson (1898), and A. N. Couch (1899). For several months in 1899, First Baptist Church was without a pastor.  During this time, services were not held regularly.  When services were held, guest pastors preached, and one of the favorites was Elder W. H. Paslay.  He was Moderator of the Mt. Vernon Association, , a post he held for over 30 years.  He was also the County Examiner for several terms.  He lived near Wheatley and receives credits for bringing many positive changes to the religious and academic life in the area.  He preached at different churches right up until his death at age 79 in 1911. Pastors in the first part of the 1900s were:  J. A. McCord (1901), Milton Hall (1905), J. E. Newman (1906), J. H. Pippin (1907), E. P. J. Garrott (1913), J. R. G. White (1913), W. C. Edwards (1921), B. F. Davidson (1924),  E. Rawlings (1926), and Grover Prince (1934). he church began to grow dramatically after World War II under Rev. Minor E. Cole’s leadership (1945).  The church’s first associate pastor, Ira Patishall, joined the staff in 1947.  In 1948, Mrs. Delmar Campbell became the first full-time secretary.  In 1950, the church purchased land from the Forrest City School District for a new church at the corner of Rosser and Cleveland Streets.  Groundbreaking ceremonies for the $400,000 sanctuary and educational building were held in October of 1950. Rev. T. K. Rucker became the pastor in 1951.  Services were held  in the new church beginning in January of 1952; formal dedication ceremonies were on April 24, 1955.  Church membership had grown to 1260.  Sunday School had grown to 17 departments with 76 classes. In 1960, Rev. Sam Gash became the pastor.  In October of that year, the church purchased the 10,000 square foot National Guard Armory adjoining the church property.  It became the First Baptist Church Recreation and Activities Building when formally dedicated on September 10, 1961.  It is now known as Fellowship Hall. The church continued to grow under Rev. Clyde Hankins (1965) direction and Rev. Bobby Moore (1971).  In 1975, under the leadership of Rev. Kerry Powell, the church members started a “Together We Build” Program.  The result was a 10,000 square foot administration-education building that dedicated on January 30, 1977.  Church membership grew to 2145.  The church slogan became, “A city block…ministering to all areas of life”. Many areas remodeled in the past few years:  the Administration-Education Building in 1994, the sanctuary in 1997, the education building in 2000 and 2002, and Fellowship Hall in 2001. The latest pastors have been: Rev. Delton Beall (1987), Rev. Rick Hedger (1994), Rev. Johnny Jackson (interim pastor 1999), and  Rev. James Dean (2001).  Our current pastor is Dr. Gene Crawley (photo on Staff Page).